Where Things Stand: 2021 NFL Edition Part 4-Finale

Sean Fitzgerald
24 min readJan 20, 2022

This has been a rough year in more ways than one. I say that on a personal level and for writing up Where Things Stand at times, but things have been much better lately.

I’m always so grateful for the support of those out there that take the time to read WTS. I know I normally post a note like this at the end of the column, but I wanted to post an extra one at the beginning of the monolog before we begin.

I’ll save the rest for later so as not to get too sappy. Let’s get started with the 2021 Part 4 Finale!

_____________________

“There is no real ending. It’s just the place where you stop the story.” -Frank Herbert

I will admit, I had to dig that one up. I’ve always called my Part 4’s for Where Things Stand: NFL Editions the “Finale” because it ends the series for the year. It’s not a true ending, but where I stop the series until next year rolls around.

Also, HAPPY NEW YEAR!! I’m sure 2022 will be just fi-Oh dear god it’s a clown show.

*Ahem* For now, it’s about the present. And boy, oh boy! We have a lot to discuss! But first, you’ll want to catch yourselves up on 2021 Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3 if you haven’t already.

We have our coaching fires, the playoff teams, the evisceration of several teams, and our Mulligan Teams.

Note the plural on the Mulligan Teams. You see, the first two years of this series has seen the Mulligan team hail from the NFC. It would have been the third year in a row that happened if I only stuck to one this season.

So for one time only, we’re mulliganing two AFC squads and two from the NFC. I’m making sure editor Brandon Lewis holds me to the only one mulligan team next year.

Onto more important matters, we finished the new two-way time machine and would you guess what happened?

It worked!

We did it folks! We sent the machine to pick up intern Jason, and we finally brought him back home. There were no side effects other than a bit of nausea. Now we have to prevent the “other people” from finding it.

Upon his return, intern Jason foolishly thought his internship would be over like intern Paul’s is now.

~That’s not the case my friend.~ When you were the test dummy for screwing up the time machine previously and being away from us for a year, that means you haven’t fulfilled your contract. So you’re stuck here with Randy for another season, and Mindy has two more to go. Intern Paul is more than welcome to stay on in a non-intern capacity if he so wishes.

That reminds me, I need another new intern next year. Maybe two? We’ll see.

Oh right, playoffs! We at WTS HQ have the designations for those lucky 14 teams listed here once again for your convenience.

Z=Best conference record, clinched division and first-round bye

Y=Clinched division

X=Clinched Wild Card

Also, it’s hard to believe no one had clinched a playoff spot until Week 15. 14 weeks without anyone clinching was a shocker. That’s how much parity there was this year.

I promised you all extra humor and snark to go with the analysis last time. Now it’s time to deliver on my word! Time for the AFC East to take the stage.

*Note: All team page hyperlinks are to ESPN.

________________

AFC East

Y-Buffalo: 3–1 | Part 2: 5–3 | Part 3: 7–5 | Part 4: 11–6

X-Patriots: 1–3 | Part 2: 5–4 | Part 3: 9–4 | Part 4: 10–7

Miami: 1–3 | Part 2: 2–7 | Part 3: 6–7 | Part 4: 9–8

NY Jets: 1–3 | Part 2: 2–6 | Part 3: 3–9 | Part 4: 4–13

State of the AFC East

Buffalo: I would like to thank the Bills for not allowing the New England Invitational Division to return.

Things got waaayyyy too close for comfort there for a while.

Still, I congratulate you for winning your second straight AFC East title. All I need from you is to keep it away from New England until 2023, and then we will have officially retired the former name of this division.

I need another moment of Bills Mafia jumping stupidly into tables.

*Disclaimer: I do not condone the burning of tables, and people jumping into them. I do however, find people stupidly jumping into and breaking tables hilarious!

This never gets old!

And I’m briefly breaking my “no postseason results” rule for the Bills and Patriots Wild Card matchup.

Holy crap!! Josh Allen kicked the Patriots in the teeth and throttled Belichick. I never would have guessed Buffalo would win in a blowout!

Thank you Bills!!!!

New England: “No. No!! NOOOOOOOO!!!!! You were supposed to be dead! That was supposed to be a damn jinx!! THERE WAS NO NEW ENGLAND INVITATIONAL DIVISION ON THE AGENDA!!!

They’ve won seven in a row and leapfrogged Buffalo for the division lead. Bad Patriots!!

Sigh… I guess they’re good again. I should’ve mulliganed them when I had the chance.

*Lightbulb*

Or I still could!!”

If you all didn’t see this coming from a mile away, I’m sorry. The Patriots are AFC Mulligan Team No. 1.

However, it’s for their success rather than any pitfalls that doomed them. At the beginning of the season, I was much less than impressed with their play. It didn’t look like it would result in a playoff berth.

But would you look at my 2020 Part 4 prognostication! It was almost spot on. Drafting Mac Jones for this system was a perfect fit, and as much as I want the Patriots to stay dead, I’m using a mulligan on them because they exceeded expectations.

Don’t expect me to praise Bill Belichick anymore than I have to.

*Whispers*: Though Belichick is probably just happy that the Tom Brady narrative got flipped on its head for a brief moment, so I’ll leave him with that.

Miami: That win over the Ravens isn’t as flukey as I thought. Rattling off seven wins in a row is incredible after a 1–7 start. I am impressed that Brian Flores got his team back on track.

Unfortunately, it didn’t result in a playoff berth. They needed to win out in order to reach the postseason, and Tennessee wrecked that underdog story.

Wait, what do you mean they fired Brian Flores?!

Okay Intern Mindy, get out the blowtorch!!!

I don’t care about a damn power struggle or whatever the heck happened!! Just wow!! Shocker of the year here.

He gave you two straight winning campaigns and did it with a lot of good football. Someone’s getting lucky to hire him this winter.

Dear god, the Dolphins are never going to be good as long as Stephen Ross owns the franchise.

New York: The Jets ended this year pretty much where I expected them to, and that would be in the basement.

Zach Wilson has been alright the last little bit, but outside of Jones, this entire class of rookie quarterbacks weren’t going to light things up like Joe Burrow and Justin Herbert did last season.

Robert Saleh has a good unit, and they play hard. They even nearly upset Brady and company (except Brady came back and won because he’s Tom Brady), which is eye opening.

I won’t pull a “here’s what they’ll be next season” on the Jets, but the arrow is trending upward. It’ll go even further north if they reinforce their offensive line and add a few more toys for Wilson to play with.

AFC North

Y-Cincinnati: 3–1 | Part 2: 5–4 | Part 3: 7–5 | Part 4: 10–7

X-Pittsburgh: 1–3 | Part 2: 5–3 | Part 3: 6–5–1 | Part 4: 9–7–1

Cleveland: 3–1 | Part 2: 5–4 | Part 3: 6–6 | Part 4: 8–9

Baltimore: 3–1 | Part 2: 6–2 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 8–9

State of the AFC North:

Cincinnati: The Bengals won the AFC North. Nowhere near what I expected entering the season, but okay.

Ja’Marr Chase was electrifying all year long, and when I met him in-person at the 2021 NFL Draft in Cleveland, he had that charisma around him where you could sense he could be something. And no, it wasn’t a one-on-one interview. I was with other media members and was able to get a question in.

Still, the Bengals defense that I straight-up dismissed at the start of the year was far better than expected! And my criticisms about the O-line have been entirely justified. Burrow still got killed at times (51 sacks), but they have him, Joe Mixon, Tee Higgins and Chase as offensive cornerstones. They’re all 25-years-old or younger, and Tyler Boyd adds a nice veteran presence into that mix.

My previous fears of Cincinnati may be coming true. Lord help us!

Pittsburgh: I’m not saying anything. I’m salty that somehow, someway, the Steelers lucked into a wild card in Big Ben’s last ride.

I was wrong about you is what I will say, but you’re not the other AFC mulligan. There are far more deserving candidates.

No congratulations. I hope you like Kansas City beating the false hope out of your system!!

After that, your years of inaction on finding a successor at quarterback may or may not come back to bite you.

It’s the Steelers. Give me two to three years before I can declare them dead.

Cleveland: “What… What is this team?! Oh dear lord! I’m watching a Super Bowl contending Browns squad. AND THEY’VE WON THREE IN A ROW SINCE AN OPENING LOSS AT ARROWHEAD!!!!”

-Several months later-

I need some more Kool-Aid to work through this one. Intern Jason! I need another gallon of this brew, pronto!

Now where was I?

Ah, yeah. The Browns shooting themselves in the foot repeatedly and missing out on the postseason after breaking that drought in 2020.

Some of the blame is assigned to Joe Woods and Kevin Stefanski.

Woods never got his guys early on to cover the open man and kept committing stupid holding, pass interference and offsides penalties.

Kevin Stefanski? I’ll give him a slight pass. I didn’t expect this kind of regression in Year 2, but this is what I would’ve expected last year in terms of play calling and game management. He’ll ~hopefully~ be okay. Then again, crazier things have happened in Cleveland.

I could lay all the blame at the feet of Baker Mayfield. He deserves some of it for pressing and doing too much after a spectacular second half in 2020.

But do you know what I blame him for the most?

Making that damn tackle in the Texans game and then being selfish by playing hurt and therefore, screwing the team. He underwent successful surgery Jan. 19 and posted a video on Twitter afterwards.

A team spokesperson said Mayfield should be able to participate in the offseason program “on a limited basis” while a full recovery is expected for the soon-to-be fifth-year gunslinger by the start of training camp.

I’m not saying this Browns season wouldn’t have gone off the rails, but it changed how he threw the ball and affected his confidence and ability to run for fear of further injury. Jonathan Vilma talked about his own labrum tear injury in the Week 18 win over the Bengals (WE OWN YOU CINCY!!!). Based on those comments, Baker should have been shut down in October. Period.

(Before I keep going: Case Keenum with the funniest quote of the season right here. Yes, I know, I’m allowed to be a child at times lol. And yes, I know it breaks the flow Brandon. Couldn’t figure out another spot).

Brief aside here as I also want all Browns fans to repeat after me: The media doesn’t control how the Browns play. End of story on that. I claim no insider knowledge here, first and foremost, but from an objective standpoint, you can’t expect everyone to tell you what you want to hear. The truth can be uncomfortable, and I get some of you don’t want to hear it because you want to have everything be perfect. I don’t blame ya for it, but even if people are right or wrong, sources can give different info. Just saying.

I don’t think the Browns will end up landing Aaron Rodgers (I think Denver) or Russell Wilson (NOLA anyone?), and you can’t convince me there’s a better QB upgrade out there right now.

Mayfield’s $18 million is fully guaranteed. You’ve seen the No. 1 overall pick talent in him, and this year he was injured to all hell. My expectation is he’ll be back, but there will 100% be a competition.

I really wanted to go in harder on the team (NOT PLAYERS, THE TEAM), but what did I say before?

“At this point, trying to ask, “Why do you keep doing this to me?” is akin to asking, “Why do I keep getting drunk?” and not realizing it’s a problem with Alcoholism.”

It’s been like that for all 23-plus years of my existence on this Earth, outside of 2007 and 2020. You’d think I’d learn by now, especially since I LITERALLY developed a sixth or seventh sense over the last 13–14 years called “The Gut Punch” when I knew the Browns were about to screw up or have something bad happen, and that’s when they’d lose the game, and I’d know it before it would even happen.

It came back way too often for my own liking this year compared to 2020.

The fact Browns fans had to rely on the Bengals losing out and them winning out, plus another Ravens loss (the last of which happened) tells me this team was nowhere near a contender this year because all the mistakes were self-inflicted (~except Green Bay. There was refball there~, but I digress).

I don’t care if it’s Baker Mayfield or a mid-round draft pick or “insert name here” at quarterback next year. Just get me one of USC’s Drake London, or Ohio State’s Garrett Wilson or Chris Olave to upgrade the receiver talent, and I’ll feel a lot better.

Get one of them, even if you have to trade into the Top 10 to secure one of those studs!!

And wait… you’re not in the AFC North basement?

~This is gonna be fun!!!~

Baltimore: “The Dolphins’ upset surprised me. As did Justin Tucker missing a field goal. I’m serious when I say he’s going to wind up in Canton when he’s done. If he doesn’t get in, then the Hall of Fame voters need an eye exam.

In the meantime, they finally have lost a few of those close games they’ve had a knack for winning this year. It’s infuriating how quote-unquote “lucky” they’ve been at times.

Still, this defense is exploitable, the injuries are still mounting (aka, Marlon Humphrey) and if you can contain Lamar, you stand a chance of winning.”

Or Lamar getting injured is what will be written as part of the death of the Ravens 2021 season.

Seriously, who did you guys piss off with the injuries?

Well, I don’t care. I was going to use my second AFC mulligan on the Colts, but seeing you in the AFC North basement? I’m not making the same mistake I almost made with the Patriots and actually going after you screw ups!!

High and mighty Baltimore! The city that stole Cleveland’s original NFL franchise. For years you looked down on Cleveland (rightfully so) and jeered.

~You found Lamar Jackson~!! What good does that do you when, as I’ve said before, injuries sap him of athleticism, and you fall off a damn cliff? Though this is more in reference to the record.

But the point: You’re screwed!!

Six losses in a row also is something you guys don’t do, right?! I wanna know how you all feel right now losing to a washed up Big Ben to end your season!

I know I’ll be crucified for this mulligan later, but thank you for not letting Cleveland finish in last place!

~Congratulations, Balti-less!! Ya earned it!!~

AFC South

Z-Tennessee: 2–2 | Part 2: 7–2 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 12–5

Indianapolis: 1–3 | Part 2: 4–5 | Part 3: 7–6 | Part 4: 9–8

Houston: 1–3 | Part 2: 1–8 | Part 3: 2–10 | Part 4: 4–13

Jacksonville: 0–4 | Part 2: 2–6 | Part 3: 2–10 | Part 4: 3–14

State of the AFC South:

Tennessee: The top seed in the AFC is now yours, Titans. Well done on that accomplishment.

You’ll get another week for Derrick Henry to rest and get your whole squad healthier.

Don’t waste this window. It may be your last, best shot at the Lombardi Trophy.

Indianapolis: “Now the Colts! I can get a read on you guys! A wildcard team that will use bully ball to make their opponents cry.”

The interns are going to be working double time today with everything that’s happened. Indy actually blew it against Jacksonville and eliminated themselves from the postseason?!

Intern Randy, I need the memes for this one. You know which ones they are!

Wow. Win one of your last two, and you were in. Owner Jim Irsay and former General Manager Ryan Grigson deserve all the blame for this because you have Carson Wentz and not Andrew Luck.

And there isn’t a first round pick to help you in the draft either.

This is so laughable right now. Yet I somehow feel sad.

Here’s some more pain for ya.

Houston: David Culley got axed.

When Brandon told me about this, I texted back “DO I HEAR NINE!” for head coaching fires.

He was the eighth guy to go. And honestly, who wants to come and coach a Texans team without a ton of top talent? That would be probably everyone except Brian Flores, who would hope to convince Deshaun Watson to stay in town.

The Texans better pray Nick Caserio knows what he’s doing. Time is ticking.

Jacksonville: I have sympathy for Jacksonville fans and this poor dude, but I have to eviscerate this franchise for their now-former head coaching hire…

Or, did your blowout win over Indy save you from further punishment for a brief moment?

Umm, I’m at a loss here. Can someone explain what happened?! This makes no sense for a franchise in so much dysfunction that people are showing up in clown masks! And then you bottle up Jonathan Taylor and Indy?!

I guess Trevor Lawrence ended his rookie year alright. Though James Robinson had to get hurt?! Really?!

More on Lawrence here: He’s kind of broken right now after everything Urban Meyer… did or did not do. Shad Khan really needs to go out and get Eric Bieniemy.

C’mon. It’s time that dude got a head coaching gig, and he’s interviewing other candidates? Not a whiff for Eric B?

I said they were saved from punishment for a brief moment, didn’t I?

All hail the Jacksonville Sad-uars!!! This label gets removed if you hire Bieniemy and/or fix Trevor Lawrence by the start of next year. Those are the stipulations for the Sad-uars.

AFC West

Y-Kansas City: 2–2 | Part 2: 5–4 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 12–5

X-Las Vegas: 3–1 | Part 2: 5–3 | Part 3: 6–6 | Part 4: 10–7

LA Chargers: 3–1 | Part 2: 5–3 | Part 3: 7–5 | Part 4: 9–8

Denver: 3–1 | Part 2: 5–4 | Part 3: 6–6 | Part 4: 7–10

State of the AFC West:

Kansas City: I’m so ticked off! While it wasn’t a Mecole Hardman return touchdown during another Part 4 edition, we had another Chief do it if not for the damn penalty!

I still think the Chiefs will get knocked out before the Super Bowl. I’d put some better odds on Buffalo and Cincinnati if they make it past the Wild Card round.

Las Vegas: Well done, Raiders.

For the first time since the 1960s, a team who fired their coach midseason made the playoffs.

For all the crap that Derek Carr had to go through this year, he stared it down and kept climbing over the pile.

This was a team that just kept playing when it reasonably would have been respectable to keel over and die.

I still wish they had tied in the final game of the season. ~Speaking of which~…

LA Chargers: Time to bust out the blowtorch again, so I can properly roast Brandon Staley for the timeout-

What’s that?… Oh, I didn’t see that on first viewing.

Ahem, yeah, not a set defense. Can’t easily defend that narrative. Thanks Mindy.

Where was I? Oh yeah, the Chargers.

Good season, but they shot themselves in the foot several times.

I’m sure we’ll see a playoff spot for these guys next season. Justin Herbert is just that good!

Denver: This Broncos team is a quarterback away from being a contender.

Vic Fangio’s firing seemed inevitable, but his guys didn’t quit. Denver could be a force if the right coach and quarterback come in.

However, instead of shredding this franchise, I want to say Rest In Peace to Demaryius Thomas. He passed away a few weeks ago far too young, and I’ll forever remember that pass to beat Pittsburgh in overtime he took all the way down the field from Tim Tebow.

Godspeed, Demaryius.

Get the videos intern Paul!!

__________________

The dreaded NFC East is back because of one particular team. However, my editor Brandon Lewis shall finally know happiness for the first time in over a year.

__________________

NFC East

Dallas: 3–1 | Part 2: 6–2 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 12–5

Philly: 1–3 | Part 2: 3–6 | Part 3: 6–7 | Part 4: 9–8

Washington: 2–2 | Part 2: 2–6 | Part 3: 6–6 | Part 4: 7–10

NY Giants: 1–3 | Part 2: 3–6 | Part 3: 4–8 | Part 4: 4–13

State of the NFC East:

Dallas: Jerry Jones, I present to you once again 160 million reasons why paying Dak Prescott was the right move. Without him, you’d be mediocre at best.”

What did I say?

Look, I hate how overhyped the Cowboys can get, but it’s almost funny how dangerously close Dak Prescott was to leaving this franchise.

At the end of the day, Jerry gets his quarterback and another division crown, with the false hope that they’ll win the Super Bowl and drive Brandon Lewis nuts.

There is some concern in the receiver room. Amari Cooper’s pre-Covid and post-Covid production is vastly different.

Philadelphia: Damn it, the Fleagles made the playoffs, and I can’t justify using them as a punching bag.

*Monotone voice* The Fleagles are dead. Long live the Eagles.

That’ll make editor Brandon Lewis happy.

Still, how the heck did this seemingly come out of left field? Was it just me being oblivious, or what caused this transformation??

I hope you’re ready for more Nick Siriani fellas. Let’s see what he can do!!

Sidebar: Howie Roseman reportedly turning down a fourth first rounder to ensure the selection of Devonta Smith might be a 30 for 30 down the road.

Washington: “This is why we call this series “Where Things Stand”, past Fitzy. Winning four in a row is what they’ve done, and also potentially saved their season with Riverboat Ron at the helm.

I’m just waiting for Taylor Heinicke to turn back into a pumpkin. Though if you keep Antonio Gibson somewhat healthy, that may mask a few flaws on the offense.

Also, why did the football gods have to take out Chase Young? He’s one of the only few without sin around here! C’mon!!!”

This franchise is a joke. Not Ron Rivera, but the franchise.

Jalen Hurts helps the fans more than any team staff has ever done after a railing (among several other things) collapsed at FedEx Field.

Allegations surfaced the team didn’t offer any aid after the incident, and Hurts sent a letter to the NFL showing more care than the Wasington franchise

However, I’m feeling merciful. You’ll be spared today. Don’t expect the same leniency next year…. Uhh?

I guess we’ll have their new nickname in a few weeks. This is gonna be weird.

NY Giants: *Checks to see if Dave Gettleman finally got fired*

Wait, Gettleman retired? What the heck is this?! I CAN’T SHRED THE GUY IF HE RETIRED!!!!!!

Oh wait! What did I say in Part 1?

“I feel like Joe Judge is out after this year. If Dave Gettleman goes, then I’ll be shocked if Judge is retained.”

I FREAKING CALLED IT!!!

Man, am I a decent prognosticator or what?!

QB sneaks and an 11-minute rant were worth it, huh Joe? I bet The Hoodie has a job for you in New England.

Giants, go get Eric B and fix your mess. Seriously, get your act together. I’m only being nice because I called it and can’t shred a resignation.

Dang it!!!!!!!!!!!! THIS WAS SUPPOSED TO BE SNARKY!!!!!

NFC North

Z-Green Bay: 3–1 | Part 2: 7–2 | Part 3: 9–3 | Part 4: 13–4

Minnesota: 1–3 | Part 2: 3–5 | Part 3: 5–7 | Part 4: 8–9

Chicago: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–6 | Part 3: 4–8 | Part 4: 6–11

Detroit: 0–4 | Part 2: 0–8 | Part 3: 1–10–1 | Part 4: 3–13–1

State of the NFC North:

Green Bay: Do I really need to say more than 10 words on the Packers?

Super Bowl or Bust. Aaron Rodgers drama…

Yeah, I need more than 10 words.

Rodgers guides his team to a first round bye and now has shown how much better he is than Jordan Love.

If Rodgers wins the Super Bowl with the Packers, I would find it hilarious if he retired to prove a point and make the Packers suffer with Love under the assumption Love plays terribly.

If J-Love couldn’t even beat Kent State in a bowl game (I love my Golden Flashes, just saying) then tell me how he’s going to beat Dallas or Buffalo or Kansas City or Arizona, etc.

We’ll see if the Packers are forced to extend Rodgers and give up on Jordan Love. I get the thinking, but you guys traded up for him when I don’t think you needed to in 2020.

Minnesota: Quentin Griffin rejoices at the firing of Mike Zimmer.

I’m kind of surprised that Rick Spielman took the fall with him given some recent draft success but maybe something else happened behind the scenes.

Fix the defense by getting healthier and figure out what to do with Kirk Cousins.

That’s your checklist from me. Those two items need to be fixed with whoever takes charge, or you’re going to the bottom of the division for a while.

OH!! OH!! BIG MAN CATCHES FOOTBALL!!

Chicago: It’s about damn time Matt Nagy and Ryan Pace got the ax!!

You never root for someone’s firing, but they just couldn’t get it right after that 2018 season. The defense was wasted ,and I’m hoping there isn’t any long term damage to Justin Fields. I still think he’s got what it takes to win in Chicago, but I’ve been wrong on quarterbacks before (like a certain someone we’ll talk about soon).

Assuming Allen Robinson is out the door, David Montgomery is your best weapon. Good thing you have a Top 10-

Pick that goes to the Giants as part of the deal to acquire Fields.

I’ll just go laugh in the corner a bit. We’ll continue on in a moment.

Detroit. I’m not going to spend a ton of time here on the Lions, but Dan Campbell did a good job with the talent he had.

Three wins is a huge step, and he also found Amon-Ra St. Brown as a potential stud receiver to help build an offense around with the right quarterback… which isn’t Jared Goff.

I’m not making any predictions on the Lions but at least I’m encouraged that they never gave up all year. A for effort fellas.

NFC South

Y-Tampa Bay: 3–1 | Part 2: 6–2 | Part 3: 9–3 | Part 4: 13–4

New Orleans: 2–2 | Part 2: 5–3 | Part 3: 5–7 | Part 4: 9–8

Atlanta: 1–3 | Part 2: 4–4 | Part 3: 5–7 | Part 4: 7–10

Carolina: 3–1 | Part 2: 4–5 | Part 3: 5–7 | Part 4: 5–12

State of the NFC South:

Tampa Bay: Antonio Brown, you diva, you. A fake Covid vaccine card resulting in a three game ban and probably… maybe… possibly putting the kibosh on your playing days?”

How? Just, AB… How?

I’m not going into this whole soap opera. Tom Brady is Tom Brady, and I fully expect him to be playing his way into the NFC Title game, even without Brown and Chris Godwin.

If you want more AB stuff, click here.

Lord help us all.

New Orleans: Nice try, Saints.

No, seriously. With all the signal callers you cycled through this season, finishing above .500 in the first season post Drew Brees is an accomplishment.

Now, I wonder which quarterback Sean Payton takes in the early rounds of the draft a few months from now? I’m betting either Matt Corral out of Ole Miss or Malik Willis from Liberty. I think someone else is going to take Pitt’s Kenny Pickett.

Even Payton can’t say that Taysom Hill is the answer with a straight face. If only I could get my hands on some truth serum.

This is a quarterback friendly system in NOLA. Get the right one, and it’ll be a quick turnaround for Payton to get back into the postseason.

“Though I guess you’ll have to deal with that Mike Thomas issue first.

In the meantime, don’t ruin Alvin Kamara yet!”

Atlanta: So, do you want the harsh reality first or the upsides?

Harsh reality it is.

This team is still a ways away from contention. Matt Ryan had his worst statistical season in years and looks old and slow in the pocket.

The Fall Down Cons finishing 7–10 might have been the worst thing to happen since that draft position could hurt them with the available prospects.

Kyle Pitts has shown flashes of dominance, and you hope he’s not a perennial tease out there. If he puts it all together, he might be the best tight end in NFL history, assuming he doesn’t get injured to hell and back.

And wait… dammit. I asked, and you delivered a 7–10 finish…

You know what? I’m not doing it yet. Show me what you’ve got to start next year, and I might consider killing the meme.

I usually keep my word on these things, but I need a punching bag.

Oh, I know! I’ll ask the interns to decide your fate!

“INTERNS!! WHAT DO WE DO WITH ATLANTA???”

They couldn’t decide.

“BRANDON!! WHAT DO WE DO WITH ATLANTA???”

Brandon couldn’t decide either.

The meme stays for now!

Carolina: “Who knew Matt Rhule could fix Sam Darnold?”

Okay, here’s NFC Mulligan №1. I was waaaaaaayy off base here, and I’ll still find a way to blame Adam Gase somehow… maybe.

Either way, Matt Rhule’s seat is pretty toasty I’d imagine.

Darnold. PJ Walker. Cam Newton?

Nothing was fixed and now you’re back in the quarterback market with a fifth-year option for Darnold already locked in.

I don’t have a snarky nickname for you. I’m just completely disappointed in a team I previously defended becoming a mulligan team.

NFC West

LA Rams: 3–1 | Part 2: 7–2 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 12–5

Arizona: 4–0 | Part 2: 8–1 | Part 3: 10–2 | Part 4: 11–6

San Fran: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–5 | Part 3: 6–6 | Part 4: 10–7

Seattle: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–5 | Part 3: 4–8 | Part 4: 7–10

State of the NFC West:

LA Rams: Well, congrats on winning the NFC West.

You have the quarterback, you have the offensive weaponry, and the defense to make it happen.

The only problem I see with the Rams is they have wilted at times over the back half of the schedule. Not having Robert Woods could be a difference here, even with Cooper Kupp and Odell Beckham Jr.

At this point, I don’t quite see OBJ as an elite receiver as a really good one who can thrive in a big media market given the right circumstances.

I’m sure that last take won’t backfire.

Arizona: “Rumors of another one of J.J. Watt’s miracle returns have started churning and now we have an Arizona team that looks like it might earn a №1 seed.”

Well, the №1 seed idea didn’t happen, but J.J. Watt might bring a spark to the defense after all.

This dude is inhuman. Not only do the Cardinals make the playoffs but getting Watt back would be a huge boost.

Assuming Cardinals leadership isn’t as incompetent as the group in Miami, Kliff Kingsbury shouldn’t be anywhere near a hot seat this offseason.

The biggest question I have is how do you get DeAndre Hopkins healthy again? Guys fall off cliffs suddenly in the NFL and while I hope I’m dead wrong, I have an ominous feeling with Nuk.

That, or it’s the Flaming Hot Cheetos I had for a snack talking.

San Francisco: If there’s one reason San Francisco is the final mulligan team, it’s that they got to the playoffs behind Jimmy G and not Trey Lance.

“Still, they can compete. While some intrigue is focused on Trey Lance and when he might take over for Jimmy G, be patient.

If you remember, it took a few weeks before Shanahan started the latter quarterback after nabbing him from the Patriots. Lance will be ready when Shannahan needs him to be. You’ll see.”

And also this:

“I’ll give the 49ers credit for rebounding here. Just wait for them to crash over the final five weeks. It feels like destiny.”

I missed the mark quite a bit for that take. While a quarterback change may be in the offing this offseason, Trey Lance wasn’t the key to their success.

Nicely done, 49ers.

Seattle: Finishing below .500 for the first time in the Pete Carroll-Russell Wilson era has made for plenty of headlines.

I seriously can’t get a read on if Wilson will ask out of the only franchise he’s ever known. He’s got weapons and the franchise listened to him last year.

But as of right now, the NFC West is stacked! It somehow retained it’s Division of Death status for a second consecutive season and even when the 49ers struggle, they can beat anyone because of their coaching.

That’s the biggest indicator in my eyes as to whether Wilson asks out. Does he want to compete and take everyone else in the division out with the trash?

Or will he want out for a new place and/or avoiding the other teams he currently has to face?

Time will tell.

_______________________________________________________________

Well, the NBA Edition isn’t happening since we didn’t get to 1,018 followers before the New Year.

But that aside, thank you for sticking with us through this series! And especially a big thanks to Brandon Lewis for lending his editing skills for every WTS ever published. Go show him some love on Twitter people!! He’s put up with a lot of crap lately.

For me, It was tougher when I started the new job earlier in the season. My energy and attention were focused elsewhere with certain aspects of the work unfamiliar to me and causing a lot of anxiety and frustration here and there. I felt drained and it was so much harder to really deliver on the quality of WTS.

But I have an update! Said job is now a bit different, with me now dealing only with sports without having to leave the company!! So a smidgen of that attention can be moved back to the sports world.

But really, I hope we can continue doing this series every year, as it is completely unaffiliated with my current (or future) employers. This is me having fun, being a bit silly and going over the top. Though there are a number of things I do believe as well here, though it’s to a far lesser degree in most instances of humor and snark.

As the quote said at the beginning, this isn’t a real ending. This will just be the place where we stop the story for now.

For Brandon Lewis, I’m Sean Fitzgerald, and we should hopefully see you next fall for Where Things Stand: 2022 NFL Edition Part 1.

____________________________________________________________

Sean Fitzgerald is an award-winning journalist, writer, sports reporter, voice over talent and co-host of The Weekenders Podcast with Mitch Spinell. Follow him on Twitter @fitzonsportsbsr for insights, articles and occasional livestreams, as well as here on medium.com.

--

--

Sean Fitzgerald

Award-winning journalist, sports broadcaster, writer and voice talent.