Where Things Stand: 2022 NFL Edition Part 4-Finale

Sean Fitzgerald
22 min readJan 16, 2023

I can’t say anything with this piece without addressing Damar Hamlin first (future column at a date TBD).

I am glad he’s doing better and was mortified when I saw/heard what was happening. I had a little bit of faith restored in humanity when his fundraiser raised over $8 million, though I will admit it made writing WTS a little trickier initially, as I was stuck on whether to put this before the preamble or elsewhere. Not to mention on a completely unrelated note, I was stuck in a motivational slog until the last minute.

If there’s one thing I ask of you after you read this piece, please make sure you hug your loved ones or call them to let them know you love them. Hamlin showed how fragile life is. We’re blessed that a good human being didn’t die, and I wish him the best in his recovery.

“Ends are not bad things, they just mean that something else is about to begin. And there are many things that don’t really end, anyway, they just begin again in a new way. Ends are not bad and many ends aren’t really an ending; some things are never-ending.”

~C. JoyBell C.

For whatever reason, what C. Joybell C. previously said struck a chord with me. WTS: NFL Edition has been a big part of my autumns and early winters the past few years.

From the never-ending New England Part 1 narratives to the Indy Andrew Luck shaming (for lack of better terms) to the mulligan teams and the various narratives I’ve formed over the past four years, it all feels like it’s gone so fast.

Buffalo has become an AFC powerhouse, and we have seen the downfall of the Patriots dynasty as we knew it.

It feels like it was only yesterday we introduced then-intern (now associate) Paul, Randy, and of course Jason screwing up our time travel plans. We also brought in interns Mindy, Zack and Diann as helping hands. While Diann is the only confirmed departure for our group, changes may be made ahead of next season, as we throw her a going away party before finishing work for the season.

But that’s enough sentimental talk! You’re here for the humor, snark and analysis of WTS: 2022 NFL Edition’s Part 4 Finale!

As far as I’m aware, 2023 hasn’t yet devolved into a circus (fingers crossed), but there are prior 2022 Editions to catch up on (Part 1, Part 2 and Part 3) and plenty of roasting to go around! Several coaching fires, the playoff teams, shredding and our Mulligan Team in each conference.

Look, the NFC always gets the mulligan team (and it happened again this year), so I must break my word — again — and commit to one Mulligan per conference moving forward (Goddamn narratives come back to bite me!).

There was one thing that didn’t bite me, and that was finally getting our other secret project to work and deliver some desired results. We still have more testing before we can reveal what it is to the public. It is officially behind lock and key with our time machine.

Now it’s time for playoff listings. As a quick reminder, we here at WTS HQ have the designations for those lucky 14 teams continuing their seasons listed for your convenience.

Z=Best conference record, clinched division and first-round bye

Y=Clinched division

X=Clinched Wild Card

Everything included in this piece happened prior to Jan. 14’s Wild Card opener. There’s a lot to unpack, but I hope you enjoy it.

Now onto the AFC East! Oh boy, I’ve been waiting for this day!!

*Note: All team page hyperlinks are to ESPN.

________________

AFC East

Y-Buffalo: 3–1 | Part 2: 6–2 | Part 3: 9–3 | Part 4: 13–3

X-Miami: 3–1 | Part 2: 6–3 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 9–8

New England: 1–3 | Part 2: 5–4 | Part 3: 6–6 | Part 4: 8–9

NY Jets: 2–2 | Part 2: 6–3 | Part 3: 7–5 | Part 4: 7–10

State of the AFC East

Buffalo: After what happened to Damar Hamlin, the regular season finale couldn’t have played out any better for the Bills.

Nyheim Hines not only took the opening kickoff to the house but also another one to cap an emotional day for the only team in the state of New York. Intern Zack, Find the videos under File 1 and File 2.

You know what else Buffalo did? THEY TOOK HOME THE AFC EAST!! NO MORE NEW ENGLAND INVITATIONAL DIVISION!!

BILLS MAFIA!! TIME TO CELEBRATE THE DOWNFALL OF THE EVIL EMPIRE!!

*Disclaimer: I do not condone the burning of tables, and people jumping into them. I do, however, find people stupidly jumping into and breaking tables hilarious!

A final note, the Bills got screwed to an extent (we’ll bring that up later), and I am rooting for them to win the Super Bowl. Apologies go to editor Brandon Lewis and his Eagles.

Miami: I really don’t know if Tua will play another down of football following ANOTHER concussion.

He looked fantastic when available this year for the most part, and it’s saddening to think this organization mismanaged the situation so bad. Mike McDaniel should be owed an apology.

The only thing saving the Dolphins from being the LOLphins is the playoff berth that knocked out the Steelers. You want to know something else? Owner Stephen Ross is my new Dan Snyder!

Sell the team, Stephen!

New England:We are so much closer to finally delivering the final wrecking ball to the New England Invitational Division sign hanging over AFC East land.

I never thought I’d see the day.”

ASSOCIATE PAUL!!! INTERNS!!! BRANDON!!! TODAY IS THE DAY!!!

GET OUT THE WRECKING BALL AND DYNAMITE!!! IT IS FINALLY TIME TO DESTROY THE NEW ENGLAND INVITATIONAL DIVISION SIGN!!

It’s even more beautiful than I imagined! The Hoodie will return, but we finally have an AFC East Division. No more invitationals here!

You even screwed up badly against the Raiders! How!?

Intern Jason! Go feed the clip through to File 57.

I do want to point out Nelson Agholor catching DeVante Parker looking woozy and getting the attention from the sidelines to remove him from the game. It’s the best catch of his career.

I can’t mulligan you for anything, but this prize is worth it. All hail the AFC East!!

New York: Ah, this is more familiar; a New York-Jersey team missing the playoffs.

While missing the playoffs hurts after that solid start (and maybe a few flukey wins), Robert Saleh should have some job security as he continues to install his culture.

You know who doesn’t have security? Zach Wilson.

I don’t know how me and a few other of my BSR colleagues were suckered into believing he could be THE GUY for a franchise, but he may end up like Sam Darnold: Potentially damaged goods unless he makes a turnaround. I’m shaking my head that I said he could eventually be the best quarterback from the 2021 class (very heavy emphasis on could).

It begs the question of if he could be one of the biggest draft busts of all time. I know Jamarcus Russell is up there, but Wilson better have a fire under his butt, or he’s going to be a clipboard holder for four years before exiting the league.

AFC North

Cincinnati: 2–2 | Part 2: 5–4 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 12–4

Baltimore: 2–2 | Part 2: 6–3 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 10–7

Pittsburgh: 1–3 | Part 2: 2–6 | Part 3: 5–7 | Part 4: 9–8

Cleveland: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–5 | Part 3: 5–7 | Part 4: 7–10

State of the AFC North:

Cincinnati: Remember when all the talk was about the Bengals being doomed after their 2–2 start?

Yeah, not my brightest moment. Cincinnati is the AFC Mulligan Team for proving me dead wrong.

I’m going to go out on a limb and say Joe Burrow is the second coming of what will be the closest thing to Tom Brady.

He’s got the “it factor”, the swagger and the ability to effortlessly beat Kansas City. The weaponry is elite, and yet no matter what, you know you’ll win with him on the field.

My question is (and this is going to sound really, really dumb) could Zac Taylor hold this team back in the long run? I have this strange, foreboding sense the Bengals should be in the hunt for a new head coach in a few years.

Again, very dumb and potentially stupid, but I have been right on other things before. If you want to know what they are, you can click on Part 1 up above, which will take you back to all prior years’ Part 4’s and the other respective editions.

Baltimore: I could literally write out exactly what I did for the Ravens and Lamar Jackson in Part 3, and no one could tell the difference.

With a banged up knee, the reports that came out Jan. 11 were that he wouldn’t be ready for the postseason.

When your game is mostly speed based, and you don’t have that factor, you are cooked. I am now more than justified by putting Jackson into Tier 2 status all these years. As I said before, it’s not a hateful thing, but exactly this scenario happening two seasons in a row!

He hasn’t improved enough passing the ball and now I wonder if Jackson eventually finds himself out of Baltimore, and they nuke the entire operation?

Lamar’s a good guy from what I can tell. He just needs to figure out a way to become prime Russell Wilson before whatever these last two or three years have been for the former Seahawk and current Bronco (but with more running, and less at the same time).

Pittsburgh: “Why do you keep winning?

Just, why? LOSE DAMMIT!! You’re significantly overdue for a losing season (or 10), and the world needs it. World Peace could be had.

Oh wait, no. That’s when Brady retires.”

I was wrong. Pittsburgh having a losing season would bring World Peace.

Somehow, a 2–6 start yields a 9–8 finish because Mike Tomlin somehow pulls a Hoodini act Every. Single. Year! It’s the most infuriating thing because this roster should have gone 7–10 or 6–11! They even had momentary false hope of making the playoffs!!

I need to be taught Tomlin’s ways, so I can eventually destroy him. Maybe then World Peace will become a reality.

But I’ll be fair to Pittsburgh here: I envy them. While I exclude the lack of playoff success in recent years, the ability to churn out .500 or above campaigns makes me want to see that with the franchise I’ve been a fan of all these years.

Speaking of which…

Cleveland: Yep, back in the basement. This season was results based, and you failed.

Deshaun Watson was rusty, and I am still not happy with what transpired in the offseason.

He did show flashes of returning to form, but he’ll get another year with Kevin Stefanski to prove they can be a compatible match.

Speaking of Stefanski, I do question his play calling outside of the first 15 scripted plays. You aren’t the Chiefs, and I will give you credit for at least keeping a level head.

That’s where I have to blast this dumb-dumb for mentioning a sin: Listing Hack O’Brien as a Top 3 head coaching candidate.

I have nothing to say more than the stupidity is shocking.

Back on topic, saving the Joe Woods firing for the end of the year also saved your job. Year 4 needs to be at least one playoff win or more, as even I’m tired of seeing the losses pile up again. This isn’t a shot directed at Kevin or General Manager Andrew Berry, but this organization doesn’t deserve any defense for its actions since 1999.

The Cleveland Cavaliers and Guardians have winning teams and outside of two years of my fandom (I’m only counting what I remember), the Browns have one postseason spot and two winning seasons.

It’s sickening! Even if the Haslams are doing everything in their power to deliver a winner, the organization needs to step up to the plate. There’s a lot more I can say here, but some information is better left under lock and key.

Super Bowl or bust. No other result is acceptable. Do it!

AFC South

Y-Jacksonville: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–6 | Part 3: 4–8 | Part 4: 9–8

Tennessee: 2–2 | Part 2: 5–3 | Part 3: 7–5 | Part 4: 7–10

Indianapolis: 1–2–1 | Part 2: 3–5–1 | Part 3: 4–8–1 | Part 4: 4–12–1

Houston: 0–3–1 | Part 2: 1–6–1 | Part 3: 1–10–1 | Part 4: 3–13–1

State of the AFC South:

Jacksonville: The Jaguars did it? On a Josh Allen defensive touchdown!

Jacksonville won the AFC South. With Trevor Lawrence. And that’s after being 3–6 and 4–8.

OH MY GOD THE JAGUARS ARE BACK!! AND THEY’LL BE EVEN BETTER NEXT SEASON WITH A THIRD YEAR LEAP FROM LAWRENCE!!

CELEBRATE, JACKSONVILLE!!

You have the quarterback! You have the running back and some decent wideouts. You have talent, the most important factor of all!!

Let’s check in on your competitors in Nashville.

Tennessee: What the heck happened to Tennessee the last few weeks?

Why are they winning? They don’t have an A.J. Brown. They have King Henry, but that’s it.

And… Derrick Henry ruined my perfect fantasy season running roughshod over Houston. The Titans followed that up by losing to Kansas City.

*Goes to private office and grabs Kool-Aid*

Ladies and gentlemen, we may have our first mulligan candidate!”

Oh, Part 2 me was so naive! The Tennessee Runts lost one of the easiest divisions in football, hence, they are not T****s, but Runts.

You fell apart at the seams and blew a marvelous opportunity to do something. A.J. Brown killing your secondary sure was a wise move, huh?!

I bet this is the end of King Henry’s prime, and you will now have to nuke the entire operation.

I have defended you for years. Now, you have lived long enough to be eviscerated and chastised. If not for my Cincy blunder, you would have been the AFC Mulligan Team.

Congrats Runts! You blew it! Intern Randy, you know which videos to get.

Indianapolis: Let me be real here with Jeff Saturday for a moment. He wasn’t a fit for this organization to be head coach, but he came into a terrible situation and did his best. The fact he is a former player (and a really good one at that) would likely at least help his players know he gets what they’ve been through.

I could crush you for this blown 33–0 lead against Minnesota, but I feel somewhat merciful.

The Dolts have screwed around long enough, and Jim Irsay, I have your full-proof plan to nab your franchise quarterback and return to relevance immediately!

The answer is to move up three spots with Chicago to either secure your Bryce Young or C.J. Stroud. You have some of the infrastructure you would have needed to win with Andrew Luck as your quarterback. A veteran will not fix your woes.

Most importantly, you can’t count on sitting pretty and letting someone else steal your preferred QB. This year’s №4 pick, your second rounder this year and a first rounder in 2024 for the №1 and either their third or fourth rounder this year and a seventh in 2024.

Be aggressive and get the guy who could be your savior for two decades. If you don’t deal with Chicago, then this next team (who is about to be eviscerated) will make your lives miserable for 20 years.

Houston: “They suck. Collect your №1 pick for a quarterback. Prepare for a roasting in the finale!”

YOU LOST THE NO. 1 PICK TO CHICAGO!!!!!

Oh, I need to go laugh in the corner!

I feel bad for Lovie Smith getting let go, but bravo! Screwing the Texans for the mistakes of Hack O’Brien. It’s like he never left!

I mean really, now there’s so much out of your control that you’re competing with Indy to get the №1 pick! Has Nick Caserio been in a bidding war to acquire something he wants to acquire badly rather than giving something away?

I am either going to look like a fool come autumn or completely vindicated. I say the latter, but man you had it and blew it.

AFC West

Z-Kansas City: 3–1 | Part 2: 6–2 | Part 3: 9–3 | Part 4: 14–3

X-LA Chargers: 2–2 | Part 2: 5–3 | Part 3: 6–6 | Part 4: 10–7

Las Vegas: 1–3 | Part 2: 2–6 | Part 3: 5–7 | Part 4: 6–11

Denver: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–5 | Part 3: 3–9 | Part 4: 5–12

State of the AFC West:

Kansas City: The Chiefs remain as impressive as ever. I even wish this trick play wasn’t called back because it would have made it even more fun to talk about!

There also wasn’t a kickoff or punt return TD in Part 4 to talk about from KC! This might be a first.

While they have this division locked up, I take one tiny problem with them having the №1 seed and playoff bye in the AFC.

Buffalo and Cincinnati beat them.

Yes, Cincy had four losses, but Buffalo had three defeats and the head-to-head over Kansas City.

In reality, despite how messy this all was, Buffalo should have been awarded the №1 seed in my view. There was no perfect solution after an unprecedented event, but at least the Chiefs will be forced into a neutral site should they advance to play either the Bills or Bengals for the AFC title.

This isn’t me hating the Chiefs, but it feels like the head to head result was ignored here. However, I understand why the NFL did it.

LA Chargers: If anything gets Brandon Staley fired, it’s playing his starters the entire way through their contest against Denver, and Mike Williams going down with an injury.

A quarter or a half, sure, but that’s a big impact injury to a playmaker you need to make a run in January.

If Justin Herbert got cooked, his head would already be under the guillotine, sad to say. But hey, you got to the playoffs!

Enjoy trying to ink Justin Herbert to that extension this offseason! I am waiting to see if Dean Spanos has the cash to afford such a move.

Las Vegas: Derek Carr deserved better. Performance notwithstanding, he’s been through so much hell, and this is how it ends.

I don’t see Josh McDaniels staying around for more than two more seasons. If Mark Davis wasn’t as cash poor as some reports out there say he might be, he’d be a goner.

At least Davante Adams seems committed to Sin City. We’ll have to see what the future looks like out west, but there is one silver lining.

Fortunately for you, that Top 7 draft choice can be used to fill a glaring hole on that roster. I’m not saying quarterback, but a potential blue-chip guy could be had.

Denver: FIRE THE HACK!!

Oh wait, you did fire him a few weeks early. It finally worked.

Unfortunately for the Walton Family, money can’t buy you everything, and by everything, I mean Sean Payton.

Remember the Russell Wilson trade Denver made BEFORE you assumed ownership? That 2023 first-round pick would have been very useful.

It’s not your fault (not at all)! but certainly it makes it harder to get your preferred guy.

If you want my opinion, get a guy who isn’t Nathaniel Hackett or Urban Meyer, and you’re maybe okay. Maybe?

Maybe now is the time to look at Eric Bienemy.

__________________

If you told me I would only get one NFC East punching bag at the start of the year, I would have called you crazy.

Fortunately for Editor Brandon Lewis, his Eagles avoided a major end of season collapse.

__________________

NFC East

Z-Philly: 4–0 | Part 2: 8–0 | Part 3: 11–1 | Part 4: 14–3

X-Dallas: 3–1 | Part 2: 6–2 | Part 3: 9–3 | Part 4: 12–5

X-NY Giants: 3–1 | Part 2: 6–2 | Part 3: 7–4–1 | Part 4: 9–7–1

Washington: 1–3 | Part 2: 4–5 | Part 3: 7–5–1 | Part 4: 8–8–1

State of the NFC East:

Philadelphia: The last time Philly got the №1 seed, they were in the Super Bowl and won. Can they do the same this go-around with Jalen Hurts?

Prior to the shoulder injury, I would have been far more certain. He at least escaped a fate worse than what Carson Wentz suffered and will be available to play in the postseason following their bye week.

What’s even crazier is this damned division hasn’t had a repeat champion for nearly two decades! I remember as a kid there were a few years in a row where the NFC East was the final Sunday Night contest. I think the Eagles played in at least one.

Anyway, go either win the Super Bowl or at least don’t go out with a whimper. If what Intern Zack said last time is any indication, it might be a disappointing January.

Dallas: Are we sure Dallas doesn’t suffer from some sort of curse?

I write this from the past, where no Wild Card games had been played. Jerry Jones has been chasing another ring for years now but can’t get anywhere close to nabbing another Lombardi in his later years.

There’s a lot more I could say about good ol’ Mr. Jones, but that’s beneath me right now.

If there’s no Lombardi, I wonder if he goes all in for Sean Payton? It’s interesting to say the least, but Jones’ ego is probably too big.

NY Giants: My fraud meter is going off, and I don’t think you wanna know what happens if it proves to be true.

It’s been a nice season but look at the standings progression up above! What looks off to you?

A big drop off from Week 9 to now. Going 1–2–1 is not the way you’ll avoid an absolute shredding (despite Brian Daboll currently being competent).

You really, really don’t want to know what happens if you’re exposed as frauds. Make the playoffs or else!”

Well I’ll be damned! The Giants actually responded to my ultimatum and made the playoffs.

Brian Daboll has helped the Big Blue Machine with taking leaps from the era’s of Joe Judge and Pat Shurmer. Having a healthy Saquon Barkley certainly helps the cause.

Not only do you have to deal with the headache of extending or franchising the former №2 overall pick, but now you have to make your choice with Daniel Jones.

You want my honest assessment? Move on. While I’m sure Jones is well-liked, I keep getting Blake Bortles vibes from that dude.

Similar ascents as draft prospects, surprise Top 6 selections and had their best year under first-year head coaches (interim tag not applying to Doug Marrone).

Be wary, Giants.

Washington: While I could take the easy route and lambast you, the Commanders at least finished at .500. In a division that I didn’t expect to produce four such teams, they managed to pull it off in spite of internal issues at the top.

If only you had a true quarterback. Carson Wentz is not going to come back to be a starter on this team. I don’t believe Dan Snyder would trade up to draft a Bryce Young or a C.J. Stroud, but he did with RGIII.

Still, never count the Commanders out of the crazy things not listed on your crazy things bingo card.

Also, our experiment worked on you guys. I don’t know if I should be proud or disappointed.

NFC North

Y-Minnesota: 3–1 | Part 2: 7–1 | Part 3: 10–2 | Part 4: 13–4

Detroit: 1–3 | Part 2: 2–6 | Part 3: 5–7 | Part 4: 9–8

Green Bay: 3–1 | Part 2: 3–6 | Part 3: 5–8 | Part 4: 8–9

Chicago: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–6 | Part 3: 3–10 | Part 4: 3–14

State of the NFC North:

Minnesota: Here’s the plan, Minnesota!

-Avoid as many night time games as possible

-Throw Justin Jefferson the ball

-Dalvin Cook wrecks havoc as well

-Adam Thielen and T.J. Hockenson get involved in the red zone

My good friend and BSR colleague Quentin Griffin hopes that there’s not another disappointment, but there was a consolation prize. More on that shortly.

Detroit: The Lions have my eternal respect and gratitude for finishing off a monster at Lambeau Field. Zack and Diann, roll the clips! File 35 for the win, File 37 for the hilarious interview, File 40 for the butt catch and File 43 for Jamaal Williams breaking Barry Sanders’ record for most rushing touchdowns by a Lion in one season

Dan Campbell, I salute you and hope this is just the start of the fun. You also get a Top 10 draft pick via the Rams to add another blue-chipper and ascend to dominance.

Just… please don’t make me turn on you like I did with Kliff Kingsbury.

More importantly, your win (DETROIT SHOULD HAVE BEEN A PLAYOFF TEAM) means we have a special reward for a certain franchise right below.

Green Bay: ~HELLLOOO NFC Mulligan Team!~

When I wrote the Vikes narrative, I asked Quentin how he felt after seeing the Lions eliminate our good buddy Alex Wilcox’s Green Bay Pack-it-ins. Let’s just say there was a ton of snark and very little mercy.

To think that I picked them to be Super Bowl Champions. Even worse if you’re a Pack-it-in fan, YOU LOST TO DETROIT!! AT LAMBEAU~!!!!

Intern Mindy, cover me for a minute. I need to go to the corner.

Oh, the Aaron Rodgers drama is going to be juicy and unceasing this offseason!

Chicago: You have two options:

  1. Trade the №1 pick
  2. Draft a defensive player

Justin Fields showed the ability to be a franchise piece, but his weaponry and offensive line need upgrades.

I was so tempted to not call you the Bears, but 10 losses in a row is too harsh a punishment in of itself. The aforementioned unlocking of Justin Fields played a part in my decision to spare Chicago from annihilation.

Don’t screw this up!

NFC South

Y-Tampa Bay: 2–2 | Part 2: 4–5 | Part 3: 6–6 | Part 4: 8–9

Carolina: 1–3 | Part 2: 2–7 | Part 3: 4–8 | Part 4: 7–10

New Orleans: 1–3 | Part 2: 3–6 | Part 3: 4–9 | Part 4: 7–10

Atlanta: 2–2 | Part 2: 4–5 | Part 3: 5–8 | Part 4: 7–10

State of the NFC South:

Tampa Bay: I needed this Mike Evans performance in Week 16, not Week 17 for my fantasy playoffs!

In all seriousness, Tom Brady is the GOAT and if anyone can overcome their team’s roster construction, it’s him.

Part of me wonders if 20 years from now, when Brady is 65 or 66 years old, and I’m a potential parent, will my generation and the older ones fight tooth and nail against youngsters about another player supplanting Brady as the greatest to ever play?

The whole argument would play out like how people debate LeBron James and Michael Jordan (with my Pass The Mic co-host Enzo Orlando throwing in Kobe Bryant as his 1C choice) and how Super Bowl rings and playoff success overall will factor in.

As for the Wild Card game against Dallas, give me Brady over Dak Prescott.

I am also stunned we didn’t have any Antonio Brown drama like I predicted in Part 1. Color me impressed.

Carolina: I don’t know what to say about Carolina. They’re in purgatory, and I need a clearer direction in order to say anything.

Does anyone want to do something to make my job easier?

No? Then get out of my sight before I change my mind at the last minute!

New Orleans: This franchise is a shell of itself.

There’s still some dignity, but Sean Payton and Drew Brees made your franchise. Now, Dennis Allen and Mickey Loomis have to pick up the pieces, all while being in cap hell.

Mike Thomas is on an albatross contract due to injuries and other issues, Alvin Kamara has legal issues that could torpedo him, and you don’t have a quarterback.

I like the Saints. They at least found some consistency at the end of the last decade, but this is the point where you choose a path:

  1. Go all-in for a high draft pick via trade to get a young signal caller to pair with Chris Olave
  2. Blow the whole thing up

Either route is not an easy one. Resources, the wherewithal and so much more are difficult to come by. At least you serve as a cautionary tale for franchises who think they can avoid cap hell.

Atlanta: I’ve bullied the Fall Down Cons enough this year. Take this one-time mercy card and get out of my sight!

We also are not getting rid of the Fall Down Cons. You have a lot of work to get back to relevance, Atlanta. If Philadelphia and Miami could do it, so can you.

NFC West

Y-San Fran: 2–2 | Part 2: 4–4 | Part 3: 8–4 | Part 4: 13–4

X-Seattle: 2–2 | Part 2: 6–3 | Part 3: 7–5 | Part 4: 9–8

LA Rams: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–5 | Part 3: 3–9 | Part 4: 5–12

Arizona: 2–2 | Part 2: 3–6 | Part 3: 4–8 | Part 4: 4–13

State of the NFC West:

San Francisco: Brock Purdy is the new Tom Brady.

Overreaction much? F*** yeah it is!

What San Francisco has done with Big **** Brock is build a football team that can withstand multiple injuries to the most important position in football.

That is unheard of and commendable. Even if there isn’t a Lombardi this year, I’m intrigued to see what future years hold. Trey Lance officially has competition for the 2023 QB1 job.

Seattle: “Why are we giving the 12’s false hope? It’s honestly cruel and undeserved punishment when they should have been collecting a high draft pick.”

While you snuck into the postseason over the Lions, you still will be collecting a high draft pick.

How might you ask?

Oh, just a deal to send your former franchise quarterback to Denver that nets you a Top 5 selection. Nothing major.

The 12’s now get to enjoy the struggle of a postseason fight while still having a premium selection to address the quarterback room or another position of need on their defense! It’s the greatest gift of all for a franchise that overperformed in what should have been a rebuilding year.

False hope is still false hope, but a high draft pick is still a high draft pick.

LA Rams: “I also have the weird feeling Sean McVay may take his early retirement very shortly.

Wait, did someone say Baker Mayfield?!”

Glazing over the Adam Schefter report on McVay’s immediate future, INTERN DIANN! I need the comeback clip! File 7.

Barely two days with the Rams, and Mayfield delivers a game winning drive. How about that!

While Sean McVay’s squad did disappoint (drastically!), I was happy for Mayfield. Forgive me for being sentimental about the only QB that has really given me hope in my lifetime.

That’s about it with the positives. You face cap hell, still a lack of a first round pick and injuries to all of your star players.

The Lombardi is still shiny though. Stan Kroenke can have his year, but next season will not be so kind. The clock is ticking, Mr. Kroenke!

Arizona: Buh-bye Kliff! Don’t let the door kick you on the way out. Enjoy Thailand!

I might have said this before, but I’ve never flipped on someone like I did with Kliff Kingsbury between the last two seasons.

Now what is the current predicament? Oh, right!

-Kyler Murray ACL recovery

-Trading DeAndre Hopkins

-Need a new general manager and head coach

-Desperate need of new ownership.

In short, an utterly pathetic and sad story for a team that Editor Brandon Lewis was head over heels for in 2020 and 2021. I did not forget, my friend!

Though there is one moment exempt from shredding: A farewell to J.J. Watt. Thank you for being a positive impact on the game, big fella. You will be missed.

Associate Paul, run the video on File 99. See you in Canton in five years!

______________________________________________________________

Thank you for yet another year of Where Things Stand! It’s always a pleasure to do this series, and I hope the delay to this year’s finale made it closer to a masterpiece.

Until I’m told otherwise, WTS: NFL Edition will keep coming back. Thank you to Brandon Lewis, I love you all, and you thought I was done, didn’t you?

If I have the time next year, I finally have some twists and new ideas I want to implement. If we can do that is unknown, but goddammit we will try!

So until October, this is the WTS Crew signing off! We’ll be back to regular bi-weekly columns by the end of the month.

Sean Fitzgerald is an award-winning journalist, writer, sports reporter, voice over talent and co-host of The Weekenders Podcast with Mitch Spinell. Follow him on Twitter @fitzonsportsbsr for insights, articles and occasional livestreams, as well as bi-weekly columns here on medium.com.

--

--

Sean Fitzgerald

Award-winning journalist, sports broadcaster, writer and voice talent.